My Skin Gets Thirsty

Well — Luckily I’ve been busy working — but as anyone who has read any of the blog knows, I suffer from sleep issues. The worst is when I have a very early call time and I’ve only gotten 3-4 hours of restless sleep.  It doesn’t work for me in this business AT ALL – babies gotta wake up looking refreshed and ready to take on the world.  I’ve discovered a couple tricks that help my skin retain tons of moisture. This seems to be key in making my stressed out skin look healthy and glowy.   If I’m traveling I am that crazy person that puts Vaseline all around her eyes and cheeks – after 5-6 hours the vaseline sinks into my skin and voila, I don’t look like I just got my face kicked in. I know some people swear by Elizabeth Arden’s Eight Hour Cream for nighttime & travel, but that never really worked for me. And since Vaseline is a little intense to use daily, and doesn’t really work if I have to go to a set where someone is going to start applying loads of makeup on me, I kicked into Dora the Explorer mode and investigated some different solutions. I stumbled upon what I like to call Heaven in a green jar – a product by June Jacobs called Intensive Age Defying Hydrating Mask. JU083-Age-defying-maskI recently started to apply it in the am before I went to set and would rinse it off with tepid water or tissue it off and the makeup artists would immediately comment on how healthy my skin looked.  A fabulous compliment after only a few hours of sleep and a few days in really heavy makeup for several hours. June Jacobs is Paraben free which is essential for me, since my skin seems to react to those nasty little parabens. The intense hydration sinks into my skin making it look glowy and healthy and super fresh – which is something that’s important to me since I don’t like putting on tons of makeup daily.  I use it in my daily life when my skin seems to be dehydrated from a lack of sleep and I want to look well rested before a meeting.  Click here to go to the June Jacobs website. The brand veers towards the luxury end – so if it’s a little steep – take a look at some other terrific hydrating moisture masks online. Places like http://www.skinstore.com carry an array of products that are top of the line and reasonably priced. And of course one my favorite places to get lost in, Target carries several types of hydrating masks that can fit in anyone’s budget. And if you are a do-it-at home kind of gal, you can always slather on a coat of Vaseline before bed time to wake up dewy eyed and refreshed. I’ve done it for years … and always will.

Oh & click on this to learn more about why Paraben Free is important.

2 thoughts on “My Skin Gets Thirsty

  1. Hi beautiful girl! Early call times are the WORST. I found that going to AAT to “clear” my allergies has Seriously helped though. I no longer wake up with puffy eyes!! It sounds like you sensitivities to paraben among other things. Love your blog!! xo

Leave a Reply

